PABE


Reader response: God Does Not Hate Fags!
May 26, 2006, 2:05 am
Filed under: gay and lesbian, politics, religion, Uncategorized

A reader’s comments to my “God Does Not Hate Fags” posting:

“I oppose the Federal Marriage Amendment, but I think that gay marriage is wrong. When you sit there and even suggest that it is natural, you bring our society closer to the brink.”

I find this response interesting and many people feel this way. However, can someone help clarify a couple of things for me?

1. Define “wrong”

I think wearing white before Labor Day is “wrong.” Should I push to have the law amended to support my belief? Or, if I do not think it the business of law to determine such things, is my belief then just an opinion; as in, I think it’s wrong to wear white before Labor Day, but that’s just me. You can wear white if you want to.

I also think theft is “wrong.” However, since this belief is supported by the law, it doesn’t really matter what I think, what my opinion is, outside of challenging the law itself.

Which is my right too, as a citizen. And I am free to go about doing that should I see fit. But – in the meantime – I will go to jail if I am found guilty of theft.

Therefore, if you think something is “wrong” but don’t think it should be upheld by law, then what you think is just what YOU think and should remain outside of the law. Yes? And gay marriage – right or wrong- should be legal since, by definition, there is no legal basis for denying it. Just opinions.

2. Define “brink”

According to the Free Dictionary, brink means:
1. The upper edge of a steep or vertical slope: the brink of a cliff.
2. The margin of land bordering a body of water.
3. The point at which something is likely to begin; the verge.

So, with this definition in mind, what exactly is “the brink” we are heading towards should we suggest gay marriage is natural?

The brink of what?

I say gay marriage is natural….now what? am I heading towards the brink?…Cause I feel just fine.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

