PABE


Mary Cheney says John Kerry and John Edwards should be blamed for not encouraging a “substantive discussion” of LGBT rights during the 2004 election
May 12, 2006, 2:45 pm
Filed under: gay and lesbian, Mary Cheney, politics

Mary Cheney Larry King Live

Mary Cheney appeared on “Larry King Live” last night.

Not only is she holding the Dems responsible for using sexual orientation as a political tool during the 2004 election, but now she’s actually blaming Kerry and Edwards for NOT encouraging a substansive discussion on gay rights during the campaign.

Hey, Mary: Ever heard of a psychological condition known as IDENTIFYING WITH THE OPPRESSSOR?!?

Transcript Exerp:

KING: We’re back with Mary Cheney, who criticized those remarks in her book. David Wade (ph), who is the spokesperson for John Kerry has said today, “She’d be more credible if she pushed dad’s administration to support hate crimes legislation and equal rights for gay Americans rather than inflecting for the most anti-gay administration in history.” How would you respond to that response?

CHENEY: Yes, I was on a plane all day today flying out here to be with you.

KING: So you didn’t hear this?

CHENEY: Well, I’d heard that Senator Kerry and Senator Edwards both responded to my book and I got to admit I’m actually really surprised, you know, particularly with Senator Kerry because he is a Senator and, you know, we are at war in this country, so I’m thinking usually you should have some bigger things to worry about than my book.

As for a reaction, quite honestly I think I’ll probably wait a day or two to think about reacting to it just because it’s John Kerry and quite honestly he’ll probably change his mind by the time we get there.

KING: Senator Edwards said, “What I did was express my respect and admiration for the way the Cheney family, along with millions of other families, have embraced members of their family. And, if I remember, the vice president was very gracious in reacting to it.”

CHENEY: Well, if you look at the video, and I don’t know if you actually have the video, but if you watch the video of that debate it’s pretty obvious to anybody who knows my dad that he’s angry and my mom and my sister and I obviously all were primarily just because, you know, John Edwards doesn’t know us and John Edwards, if you…

KING: But he wasn’t attacking you.

CHENEY: No, but if you read John Edwards or watch John Edwards’ comments the first thing, the first words out of his mouth are, you know, “I think the Cheneys love their daughter.”

Well, I certainly appreciate Senator Edwards’ opinion but, you know, I don’t really understand what would give him the right to comment on my family and, of course, the implication would be that because I was gay maybe they don’t.

KING: Let’s watch a little clip of that, of John Edwards.

CHENEY: OK.

(BEGIN VIDEO CLIP)

SEN. JOHN EDWARDS (D), NORTH CAROLINA: Let me say first that I think the vice president and his wife love their daughter. I think they love her very much. And, you can’t have anything but respect for the fact that they’re willing to talk about the fact that they have a gay daughter, the fact that they embrace her. It’s a wonderful thing. And there are millions of parents like that who love their children who want their children to be happy.

D. CHENEY: Well, Gwen, let me simply thank the Senator for the kind words he said about my family and our daughter. I appreciate that very much.

UNIDENTIFIED FEMALE: That’s it?

D. CHENEY: That’s it.

(END VIDEO CLIP)

CHENEY: You know, Larry, one of…

KING: What’s a big deal?

CHENEY: One of the things that is so interesting about watching that videotape is what strikes me is how smart my dad was. He knew that—we knew and I talk about in the book we knew going in to that vice presidential debate that one of John Edwards’ goals was going to be to try to get my dad to lose his temper. And, I honestly think that that was what Senator Edwards was trying to do and my dad was just too smart to take the bait.

KING: Do you think it is a fair political issue at all?

CHENEY: Yes, I think that gay rights is an issue, are issues that we as a country really need to debate and discuss that we should be having substantive discussions about.

And, I frankly think it’s a little disappointing that when both John Edwards and John Kerry had the chance to talk about the substance of the issue, to talk about, you know, their own positions, that instead of doing that they, you know, decided to score some cheap political points.

KING: Isn’t their own position though more progressive than the administration’s both of them?

CHENEY: Well you’re going to have to figure out what John Kerry’s position is. But, you know, I’ve made it clear in my book that I don’t support the president’s position on a lot of gay rights issues, particularly…

KING: Nor does your dad right?

CHENEY: …the federal marriage amendment. My dad…

KING: I think your dad has said he doesn’t.

CHENEY: My dad has made his position very clear that he does not support the federal marriage amendment. I think that’s pretty progressive myself.

KING: Have you tried to change them?

CHENEY: Change who?

KING: The Bush administration people? In other words, do you discuss it or does your father ever say, “Listen to this point of view”?

CHENEY: My dad is actually very hesitant and has a pretty hard and fast rule that he doesn’t talk about conversations that he has with the president and I certainly don’t know what conversations he’s had with the president. I have not talked to the president. I’m sorry, I have not talked to President Bush.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

